Well, this was a de-tour of a de-tour!. Initially, my plan was Japan-China-Mongolia, …, but because of the incredible inefficient visa service of the Chinese embassy, I changed China for South Korea. It was initially 15 days in South Korea, but then I split it in 7 days SK and 7 Days in Cebu (Philippines). I started actually writing this blog before my arrival (I’m in the Incheon Sky Lounge in Seoul), the reason for that is that this really started like a backpacking unplanned whatever-happens trip!.

I was checking in to my flight in Jeju airlines, flight ticket that I bought in Osaka, and when I was checking in my bag, they were asking me for a 80.000 Won (~80USD) penalty for checking 1 bag!!! It was a small ~12kg bag, so there was no f*cking way I was going to pay that!. So, I look for in internet, and there is a storage service in Incheon airport that stores your bag for around 8USD a day! (I paid 42000Won for 7 days), which has around 1/4 of what I was going to finally pay for taking my bag to Cebu!. I literally took 2 t-shirts, 2 shorts, 3 boxers, my slippers, a ziploc bag with toothbrush/paste/deodorant, camera and left everything else (of course passport/wallet/cellphone), but my red small bag was left behind!. Let’s see how this goes!

I got to the airport at around 11.50 pm, then I grabbed a taxi to a hostel where I was spending 2 nights in Cebu city; surprise surprise!, the hostel for the 2 nights was 289PHP (5.48USD for 2 nights!!!), by far the cheapest hostel I have stayed in my life!, it was not that bad, AC rooms, personal lamp and power outlets, and hardly 10 mins ride to the airport!

I spent the days around Cebu city, trying some local food, getting a haircut (80PHP, like 1.3USD for the haircut!), really not much to see. It is a crowded port city, mainly the gate to the country. I spent a day in the Shangri-La resort in Mactan island, and this was fantastic!. A day pass gives access to all the amenities of the hotel like gym, spa, pools and the beach, including a lunch buffer. The beach is amazing, it is incredible how they keep it as a natural paradise, without no big modifications. There are always a lot of colorful fishes roaming around the beach!

I’m headed then to Boljoon, around 3 hours by bus to my hostel, this one is not that cheap, but it is a hostel with its own private beach and sea view rooms!, that is really awesome for a hostel of around 10USD a night!. They have some great food as well.

I’m spending next day in Aguinid falls, a place with 5 levels of falls, where you can swim, jump or climb in this place of exquisite beauty!. I tried the local moto-taxi!! Haha, this was fun!

Next day, I’m headed to the Whale Shark beach, near Oslob. This was absolutely amazing! Even though it was a little crowded because it was a Sunday, you get to swim really close with this majestic creatures!, they are supposed to be the biggest fishes in the ocean, and they are incredibly calm for being a shark! They just roam around the boats eating the plancton and swim really close!

After that I’m headed to the Tumalog falls, which was fine, but not as nice as Aguinid.

I’m headed back to the hostel to enjoy the view, the nights are awesome, with a great moonlight, lot of stars, even with a giant thunderstorm in the back, Philippines looks amazing!

I realize later that there was a plan passing by in this picture!

I end my Philippine trip with a Lechón!, which is very similar to a dish made in my hometown Pasto (Hornado), basically a whole pig, seasoned with some species and vegetables, and put in charcoal grilled (the juice was quite exotic as well, it was Kamias juice, no clue what that fruit is), but quite oily as well, it gave me a really hard time on the plane, and I extended that favor to the plane bathroom 😷!

And now…, back to the road!, I’m headed to Ulanbator with a stop in Seoul, it’s going to be a long night and day till I get there, but here things start to get more adventurous! Next stop -> Ulaanbatar, Mongolia!